North Stars


Aryana Bates, Brian Palmer and Betty Williams, all members of the North Seattle College Faculty Senate, received Union Activist Awards from the AFT Seattle Executive Board for leadership on behalf of faculty working conditions.

Nominated by Trish Root, Brian was cited for his willingness to step up as Grievance Chair and for the unique, positive style he brings to the position—redirecting conflict through proactive and productive conversation.

Trish also nominated Aryana, North’s Faculty Senate co-president, citing evidence of her keeping the Senate agenda organized, providing regular Executive Board and Senate updates to the faculty at large, and by participating in and/or spearheading a variety of union-centered activities on campus.

Betty was nominated by Kimberly McCrae and Tracy Lai, SCD AFT Seattle co-presidents.

STARS honored “Golden Star” Employees of the Quarter during the 2014-2015 academic year for possessing one or more of the following outstanding characteristics: kindness, integrity, collaboration, creativity or going-the-extra-mile.

  • Spring 2014 – Farideh Faraz
  • Summer 2014 - Terre O’Malley
  • Fall 2014 – Jo Scozzafava
  • Winter 2015 – Grace Sakuma
  • 2014 Classified Employee of the Year – Sladjan Stankovic

Elshan Aliyev, an employee in the Maintenance Department who is pursuing an associate of applied science degree, was a nominee for the 2015 All-USA Community College Academic Team competition and represented North during a ceremony in Olympia.

Abby Muro is graduating in June with her master’s degree in
Educational Leadership and Policy with an emphasis on Social and Cultural Foundations from UW-Seattle.

Eileen Murphy and Betsy Campbell received Lifelong Learning Awards from the Seattle Colleges Board of Trustees.

Kelda Martensen, a visual art faculty member, received tenure
and was honored by the Seattle Colleges Board of Trustees March 12.

OCE&E honored Employees of the Month who went out of their
way working with other staff or customers, impacted all partners
in the Opportunity Center in a positive way, exhibited leadership,
were team players, carried out additional responsibility and/or
were innovative.

  • May 2014 – Kim Gilbert, North Seattle College
  • June 2014 – Justin Fellores, DSHS
  • July 2014 – Debra Lindsey, North Seattle College
  • August 2014 – Olesa Mollet, Employment Security
  • September 2014 – Dave Duche, Employment Security
  • October 2014 – Hayley Smith, Workforce Education
  • November 2014 – Karson Bennett, Public Health
  • December 2014 – Dawn Parks, DSHS
  • January 2015 – Eileen Dornbush, Employment Security
  • February 2015 – Paul Kimball, DSHS
  • March 2015 – Jenna Serghini, Workforce Education
  • April 2015 – John Clark, Division of Child Support, DSHS

A number of individuals received League of Innovation’s John and Suanne Roueche Excellence Awards this year:

  • Alissa Agnello, Faculty, Nanotechnology
  • Denise Filiatrault, Faculty, Nursing
  • Michael Gaul, Faculty, Mathematics
  • Melissa Grinley, Faculty, Psychology
  • Jeanie Haines, Faculty, ABE/GED
  • William Holt, Faculty, Business
  • Susan Hottinger, Faculty, ESL/IEP
  • Diana Ma, Faculty, English
  • Mary Ellen O’Keeffe, (former) Vice President, Instruction
  • Karen Stuhldreher, Faculty, Gender and Women Studies

Classes | Map | People | Directory | Calendar


Need a NetID?

Students: Set one up now!

Employees: See your supervisor.